## Local Government By-Election – 3<sup>rd</sup> October 2019

## Aberdeen City Council, Electoral Ward 2 – Bridge of Don

## **Declaration Of Result**

Electorate	15,188
Total votes cast	5,201
Turnout	34.2%

I, Fraser Bell, Returning Officer, hereby declare that the result of the election in the Bridge of Don Ward is as follows. There are 2 councillors to be elected.

The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected is 1,712

The first preference votes received by each of the candidates was as follows:

Candidate's surname	Candidate's other names	Description (if any)	Number of 1 <sup>st</sup> Preferences
CLARKE	Philip	UKIP	55
CROSS	Sarah	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1,857
HARDIE	Sylvia	Scottish Green Party	140
LAWRENCE	Graeme	Scottish Labour Party	305
MCKAY	Max	Red Party of Scotland	9
MCLEAN	Simon Paul	Independent	43
MENNIE	Jessica	Scottish National Party (SNP)	1,797
SKOCZYKLODA	Michal Franciszek	Scottish Liberal Democrats	929

After application of the election rules I declare that the following have been duly elected as Councillors for **the Bridge of Don Ward** of Aberdeen City Council.

Candidate's surname	Candidate's other names*	Description (if any)	Stage at which candidate was elected
CROSS	Sarah	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	1
MENNIE	Jessica	Scottish National Party (SNP)	1

The number of papers rejected and not counted was as follows:

Reason	Number of Papers
Ballot paper which does not bear a unique identifying mark in a form that is capable of being read by electronic means;	0
Ballot paper on which the figure "1" standing alone is not placed so as to indicate a first preference for some candidate;	4
Ballot paper on which the figure "1" standing alone indicating a first preference is set opposite the name of more than one candidate;	58
Ballot paper on which anything is written or marked by which the voter can be identified except the printed number and other unique identifying mark on the back;	0
Ballot paper which is unmarked or void for uncertainty;	4
Total Number Rejected	66

## Fraser Bell Returning Officer

Election Office, Aberdeen City Council, Town House, Broad Street, Aberdeen AB10 1FY

www.aberdeencity.gov.uk/byelection

Friday 4<sup>th</sup> October 2019